Dave Boyd (Ireland)

Dave Boyd (Ireland)

Dave has been playing and teaching bodhrán for over 30 years - learning his craft and tunes in hundreds of traditional sessions throughout Ireland and Scotland. He has toured and recorded with North Atlantic Trio, and played with many notable traditional musicians.

 

Beyond Irish traditional music, he has a particular interest in the place of bodhrán as a part of the wider family of frame drums and as part of his Bodhrán Beyond project has developed new techniques for the instrument influenced by Indian, East European and Middle Eastern traditions. He is a passionate cross-cultural collaborator developing numerous pioneering projects that weave together disciplines, traditions and technologies.

 

As a composer he has worked extensively in theatre, film and dance. 

Highlights include National Theatre of Scotland, The Royal Shakespeare Company, The Royal National Theatre, London, The Abbey Theatre, Dublin, Scottish Ballet, Mark Morris Group, Merce Cunningham Company, Michael Clarke Company, and Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre. He has recently created the soundtrack for Squadwalk Films Crybaby Hill

 

In 2018 he met US oud player Mac Ritchey at Tamburi Mundi and they formed Walk Like A Cow - a project that reimagines classic rock songs for bodhrán and oud.

 

Weblinks:

Video

Dave Boyd (Irland)

Dave spielt und unterrichtet seit über 30 Jahren Bodhrán. Sein Handwerk und seine Melodien erlernte er in Irland und Schottland, wo er an zahlreichen Musiksessions teilnahm. Neben dem North Atlantic Trio, mit dem er gemeinsam auf Tour und im Tonstudio war, musizierte Dave mit vielen weiteren namhaften Musikern, deren Schwerpunkt die Traditionsmusik ist.

Dave zeichnet jedoch nicht nur seine Leidenschaft für die traditionelle irische Musik aus. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt ebenfalls der Bodhrán – ein Instrument, das der Familie der Rahmentrommeln angehört. Im Rahmen seines Projektes „Bodhrán Beyond“ entwickelte Dave für dieses Instrument sogar neue Techniken, die von indischen, osteuropäischen und nahöstlichen Traditionen beeinflusst sind. Aufgrund seiner Passion für die cross-kulturelle Zusammenarbeit entstanden vielzählige innovative Projekte, in denen sich unterschiedlichste Disziplinen, Traditionen und Technologien begegneten.

Darüber hinaus arbeitete Dave als Komponist in den Branchen Theater, Film und Tanz. Zu den Highlights seiner Schaffensorte zählen das National Theatre of Scotland, die Royal Shakespeare Company, das Royal National Theatre, London, das Abbey Theatre, Dublin, das Scottish Ballet, die Mark Morris Group, die Merce Cunningham Company, die Michael Clarke Company und das Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre. Erst vor kurzem kreierte Dave den Soundtrack für den von Squadwalk Films produzierten Film „Crybaby Hill“.

Als Dave im Jahr 2018 bei Tamburi Mundi auf den US-amerikanischen Oud-Spieler Mac Ritchey traf, gründeten beide Walk Like A Cow - ein Projekt, das klassische Rocksongs für Bodhrán und Oud neu interpretiert.

Weblinks:

Video