FDA_photo by Yoshi Toscani

Since January 2018, the Tamburi Mundi Frame Drum Academy, led by Murat Coşkun, has been offering a frame drum course lasting several years. The goal is a comprehensive training on the frame drum with different focuses in the different academic years.

Lecturers: Murat Coşkun and Philipp Kurzke

Information on the basic course

In the basic course, the participants should receive well-founded basic knowledge, as well as impulses so that they can develop an individual style and find their own way. The focus in the first year will be on rhythm work and "timing".

Classes are primarily held in a group and occasionally one-on-one. In addition to the “main lessons”, which will be led by Philipp Kurzke and Murat Coşkun, guest lecturers will be invited to teach particular focal topics.

In addition to the specified topics (see below), the participants also have the option of specifying “desired topics”, which - if it is also in the interest of the other participants - can also be taken into account.

The training starts if a minimum of 6 participants have enrolled. The aim is to ensure work in the group, but also to offer each participant individual support.


Participants / Target group

The content of our training units in the 1st year is aimed primarily at artistically and musically active and interested people, professionals from the pedagogic field, i.e. musicians who work in the professional and semi-professional field, artists, actors, dancers, but also those interested in rhythm who would like to integrate frame drums into their work, as well as teachers, pedagogues, group leaders, educators.


Content of the course

The focus is on the practical use of different frame drums with a focus on: playing technique, rhythms, ensemble playing, arrangements, compositions, frame drums in different musical contexts (e.g. traditional music, baroque music, jazz etc.), solo/improvisation, accompaniment of other instruments or dance, expansion of the tonal spectrum (sounds, dynamics), expanded and innovative playing options, warm-up exercises and practical tips, notation and background knowledge about instruments, cultures of origin and the associated music. We will also incorporate our own creativity. Making music together will be an integral part of the training. The participants receive teaching material and “homework", which serves to prepare them more specifically for the individual stages of the teaching process.


Requirements

- good basic knowledge of at least 2 (percussion) instruments, at least one of them being a frame drum

- knowledge of some basic rhythms (at least 4-6 rhythms)

- basic knowledge of reading sheet music and notation

- adequate coordination skills and flexibility

- willingness to practice and deepen the content independently.


Number of hours and structure (basic course, 1st year)

4 weekends of 16 hours each
1 weekend as part of the Tamburi Mundi Festivals with lessons and free workshops
1 exam weekend

Total duration 92 hours


Exam

At the end of the 11-month basic course there will be a written and practical final exam. After successful completion participants receive a certificate with detailed information on the course content. The participants must have been present at least 75% of the time.

Course fees

 

Frame Drum Seminar: 1200,-€  / 1080,-€ (reduced)

This does not include accommodation and meals costs.
The course fees can also be paid in installments if desired.

Tips for financing your studies: Education bonus of the Federal Ministry of Research and Education - more information!

FDA_photo by Yoshi Toscani

Seit Januar 2018 bietet die Tamburi Mundi Frame Drum Academy unter der Leitung von Murat Coşkun einen mehrjährigen Rahmentrommel Lehrgang an. Ziel ist eine umfassende Ausbildung auf der Rahmentrommel mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten in den einzelnen Studienjahren.

Dozenten: Murat Coşkun und Philipp Kurzke

Informationen zum Grundstudium

Im Grundstudium sollen die TN (=Teilnehmer:innen) gute und fundierte Grundkenntnisse erhalten, ebenso Impulse, damit sie daraus ein individuelles Spiel entwickeln und für sich einen eigenen Weg finden können. Der Fokus wird im ersten Jahr auf Rhythmusarbeit und "Timing" liegen.

Der Unterricht erfolgt in erster Linie in der Gruppe, gelegentlich wird auch Einzelunterricht stattfinden. Neben dem „Hauptunterricht“, den Philipp Kurzke und Murat Coşkun  leiten werden, werden zu speziellen Schwerpunkt-Themen Gastdozent:innen eingeladen.

Neben den vorgegebenen Themen (s.u.) haben die Teilnehmer:innen auch die Möglichkeit, „Wunschthemen“ anzugeben, die ggf. mit berücksichtigt werden können.

Die Ausbildung beginnt ab einer TN-Zahl von 6 Personen. Ziel ist, die Arbeit in der Gruppe zu gewährleisten, aber auch allen Teilnehmer:innen eine individuelle Betreuung anzubieten.

 


Teilnehmer:innen / Zielgruppe

Die Inhalte unserer Ausbildungseinheiten im 1. Jahr zielen vor allem auf künstlerisch und musisch aktive und interessierte Menschen sowie Berufsgruppen im pädagogischen Umfeld ab, d.h. Musiker:innen, die im professionellen sowie semi-professionellem Bereich arbeiten, Künstler:innen, Schauspieler:innen, Tänzer:innen, aber auch Rhythmusinteressierte, die Rahmentrommeln in ihre Arbeit integrieren wollen sowie Lehrer:innen, Pädagog:innen, Gruppenleiter:innen, Erzieher:innen.


Inhalt des Unterrichts

Im Fokus steht die praktische Anwendung unterschiedlicher Rahmentrommel-Instrumente mit Schwerpunkten auf: Spieltechnik, Rhythmen, Ensemblespiel, Arrangements, Kompositionen, Rahmentrommeln im unterschiedlichen musikalischen Kontext  (z.B. traditionelle Musik, Barockmusik, Jazz etc.), solistisches/ improvisatorisches Spiel, Begleitung von anderen Instrumenten oder Tanz, Erweiterung des klanglichen Spektrums  (Sounds, Dynamik), erweiterte und innovative Spielmöglichkeiten, Aufwärm-Übungen und praktische Tipps, Notation sowie Background-Wissen über Instrumente, Ursprungskulturen und auch die damit verbundene Musik. Daneben werden wir auch die eigene Kreativität einbauen.
Das gemeinsame Musizieren wird ebenso ein fester Bestandteil der Ausbildung sein.
Die Teilnehmenden erhalten Unterrichts-Material, ebenso sollen „Hausaufgaben“ dazu dienen, sich gezielter auf die einzelnen Unterrichtsphasen vorzubereiten.


Voraussetzungen

- gute Grundkenntnisse auf der Rahmentrommel
- Kenntnisse über einige Grundrhythmen (mind. 4-6 Rhythmen)
- Grundkenntnisse in Notenlesen und Notation
- ausreichende Koordinationsfähigkeit und Beweglichkeit
- Bereitschaft zum Üben und Vertiefen der Inhalte in selbstständiger Arbeit.


Umfang und Aufbau (Grundstudium, 1. Jahr)

4 Wochenenden à 16 Stunden
1 Wochenende im Rahmen des Tamburi Mundi Festivals mit Unterricht und freiem Workshop-Angebot
1 Prüfungswochenende

Gesamtdauer 92 Stunden


Prüfung

Am Ende des 11-monatigen Grundstudiums erfolgt eine schriftliche und praktische Abschlussprüfung. Für die erfolgreiche Teilnahme erhalten die TN ein Zertifikat mit einer detaillierten Auflistung der Ausbildungsinhalte. Die Teilnehmer:innen müssen mind. 75 % der Zeit anwesend gewesen sein.


Termine 2020

21.-23. Februar 2020  
03.-05. April 2020  
22.-24. Mai 2020  
31. Juli – 2. August 2020 Unterricht im Rahmendes Tamburi Mundi Festivals
02.-04. Oktober 2020  
11.-13. Dezember 2020 Abschluss mit Prüfungen

 

Unterrichtszeiten

Freitag: 18-21 Uhr
Samstag: 9-13 Uhr  // 14.30-18 Uhr  // 19-21 Uhr
Sonntag: 9-12.30 Uhr

 


Gebühren

Rahmentrommel-Lehrgang: 1200,-€  / 1080,-€ (erm.)

Darin enthalten sind keine Unterkunfts- und Verpflegungskosten.
Die Kursgebühren können auf Wunsch auch in Raten bezahlt werden.

 

Tipps zur Finanzierung: Bildungsprämie des Bundesministeriums für Forschung und Bildung - Mehr Infos!